EECS 370: Intro to Computer Organization

The University of Michigan, Winter 2024

Announcement

Welcome to EECS 370 Winter 2024!

Website Subject to Change

We are currently updating the website for the W24 semester. Dates and links may be outdated or incorrect. Everything is subject to change.

Calendar   Open OH Calendar in Google Calendar Add OH Calendar to My Calendar



Office Hours

Office Hours

Please see the above calendar for when each queue is open. All office hours are color coded based on where they are and what type they are (individual vs group).

When you come to office hours, please be sure to specify your location. If we can't find you we'll have to pop you off the queue and you'll have to wait in line again.

If the queue is busy, staff members might limit each student to 10 minutes.

Please have your questions ready! Unfortunately we only have so much time to spend with you.

BBB Atrium

UGLI Basement

Virtual

Admin Requests

A due date for Exam Conflicts and Accommodations will be announced soon.

Lectures

Jon Beaumont
Jon Beaumont
Lecture
Office Hours

Tue 4:30 - 5 PM [2901 BBB]

Wed 3 - 4 PM [Remote]

Thu 4:30 - 5 PM [2901 BBB]


See GCal for OH format
Krisztian Flautner
Krisztian Flautner
Lecture
Office Hours

Tue 10:20 - 11 AM [Group, After Lecture]

THu 10:20 - 11 AM [Group, After Lecture]


Yatin Manerkar
Yatin Manerkar
Lecture
Office Hours

Wed 10 - 11 AM 4816 BBB


Labs

Lab Slides and Worksheets

Friday Labs
9:30-11:30 AM
10:30-12:30 PM
11:30-1:30 PM
12:30-2:30 PM
1:30-3:30 PM
2:30-4:30 PM
3:30-5:30 PM
4:30-6:30 PM
Monday Labs
9:30-11:30AM
1:30-3:30PM
2:30-4:30PM
3:30-5:30PM
4:30-6:30PM
5:30-7:30PM

Recorded Labs

Mason
Mason Nelson
Lab
Time & Location
YouTube Labs from Past Terms

Projects

Project 1

Assembler, Simulator, and Assembly-Language Multiplication

Project 2

Advanced Assembler and Linker

Project 3

Pipelined Datapath Simulator

Project 4

Data and Memory Cache Simulator


Homeworks

HW 1

HW 2

HW 3

HW 4

Exams

Midterm

Thursday, March 7th at 6 - 8 PM

Final

Friday, April 26th at 10:30 - 12:30 PM

Review Sessions

Midterm Review

Sunday, March 3rd, in DOW 1013 at 2 - 4 PM

Final Exam Review

Sunday, April 21st, in DOW 1013 at 2 - 4 PM

Course Resources

Schedule

Day Topic Assignment Released Assignment Deadline Patterson & Hennessey ARM 5th Readings
Week 1 Wed Jan 10 First Day of Classes
Thu Jan 11 Lecture 1: Introduction
Sections
1.1 - 1.4, 1.7
Fri Jan 12 No Labs (MLK Day on 1/15)
Mon Jan 15
Week 2 Tue Jan 16 Lecture 2: ISA and Binary
Sections
2.2 - 2.6, 3.2, 3.3
Wed Jan 17
Thu Jan 18 Lecture 3: LC2K
Sections
2.2 - 2.5
Fri Jan 19 Lab 1: Binary & C
Sections
2.4, 2.6, 3.2
Mon Jan 22
Week 3 Tue Jan 23 Lecture 4: ARM
Sections
2.2, 2.3, 2.5, 2.6
Wed Jan 24
Thu Jan 25 Lecture 5: Converting C to Assembly
Sections
2.2, 2.3, 2.6, 2.7
Fri Jan 26 Lab 2: Project 1 - LC2K ISA
Sections
2.2 - 2.7, 2.13, 3.3
Mon Jan 29
Week 4 Tue Jan 30 Lecture 6: Function Calls in Assembly
Sections
2.8, 2.13
Wed Jan 31
Thu Feb 1 Lecture 7: Linking & Floating Point P1a Due
Sections
2.12, 3.2, 3.3, 3.5
Fri Feb 2 Lab 3: ARM Assembly
Sections
2.2 - 2.7, 2.13, 3.3
Mon Feb 5 HW 1 Due
Week 5 Tue Feb 6 Lecture 8: Combinational Logic Design
Sections
A.1 - A.3, A.5, C.2
Wed Feb 7
Thu Feb 8 Lecture 9: Sequential Logic Design P1s & P1m Due
Sections
A.7 - A.9, A.11
Fri Feb 9 Lab 4: Project 2 - Functions & Linking
Sections
2.8, 2.12
Mon Feb 12
Week 6 Tue Feb 13 Lecture 10: FSM & Single-Cycle Processor Design
Sections
A.10, C.3, 4.1 - 4.4
Wed Feb 14
Thu Feb 15 Lecture 11: Multi-Cycle Processor Design
Sections
4.1 - 4.4
Fri Feb 16 Lab 5: Digital Logic
Sections
A.1 - A.3, A.5, A.7 - A.11, C.2, C.3
Mon Feb 19
Week 7 Tue Feb 20 Lecture 12: Pipelined Processors
Sections
4.5 - 4.6
Wed Feb 21
Thu Feb 22 Lecture 13: Data Hazards P2a Due
Section
4.7
Fri Feb 23 Lab 6: Single & Multi-Cycle Datapaths HW2 Due
Sections
4.1 - 4.4
Mon Feb 26 No Class (Spring Break)
Week 8 Tue Feb 27 No Class (Spring Break)
Wed Feb 28
Thu Feb 29
Fri Mar 1
Mon Mar 4 Lab 6: Single & Multi-Cycle Datapaths
Sections
4.1 - 4.4
Week 9 Tue Mar 5 Midterm Review
Wed Mar 6
Thu Mar 7 Midterm Exam (6-8 PM; No Lecture)
Fri Mar 8 No Labs
Mon Mar 11
Week 10 Tue Mar 12 Lecture 14: Data Hazards II
Section
4.7
Wed Mar 13
Thu Mar 14 Lecture 15: Control Hazards & Branch Prediction
Sections
4.8, 4.9
Fri Mar 15 Lab 7: Advanced Assembly - Recursive Functions
Sections
4.5, 4.6
Mon Mar 18 HW3 Due
Week 11 Tue Mar 19 Lecture 16: Introduction to Caches
Sections
5.1 - 5.3
Wed Mar 20
Thu Mar 21 Lecture 17: Cache Blocks, Write Policies P2l Due
Section
5.3
Fri Mar 22 Lab 8: Project 3 - Pipelining
Section
4.7 - 4.9
Mon Mar 25
Week 12 Tue Mar 26 Lecture 18: Direct-Mapped Caches
Sections
5.4, 5.8
Wed Mar 27
Thu Mar 28 Lecture 19: Set-Associative Caches P3 Checkpoint Due
Sections
5.4, 5.8
Fri Mar 29 Lab 9: Datapath Performance
Sections
1.6, 1.9
Mon Apr 1
Week 13 Tue Apr 2 Lecture 20: Classifying Cache Misses
Sections
5.4, 5.5
Wed Apr 3
Thu Apr 4 Lecture 21: Virtual Memory P3 Due
Section
5.7
Fri Apr 5 Lab 10: Project 4 - Caches
Sections
5.9, 5.12
Mon Apr 8
Week 14 Tue Apr 9 Extra Lecture: TBD
Wed Apr 10
Thu Apr 11 Lecture 22: Multi-Level Page Tables
Section
5.7
Fri Apr 12 Lab 11: Cache-Aware Programming
Sections
5.4, 5.5
Mon Apr 15
Week 15 Tue Apr 16 Lecture 23: Speeding Up Virtual Memory
Section
5.7
Wed Apr 17
Thu Apr 18 Extra Lecture: TBD P4 due
Fri Apr 19 Lab 12: Cache and Virtual Memory Performance
Sections
5.5, 5.7, 5.8
Mon Apr 22 HW4 Due
Week 16 Tue Apr 23 Final Review
Wed Apr 24
Thu Apr 25
Fri Apr 26 Final Exam (10:30 - 12:30 PM)

Staff

Jon
Jon Beaumont

Professor

jbbeau@umich.edu

VS VS VS VS VS
Krisztian Flautner
Krisztian Flautner

Professor

manowar@umich.edu

Yatin Manerkar
Yatin Manerkar

Professor

manerkar@umich.edu

Jonathan Bailey
Jonathan Bailey

GSI

jbaile@umich.edu

Ubuntu Vim ๐Ÿšฒ ๐ŸŽž ๐Ÿ… ๐Ÿ“ผ
Shibo Chen

GSI

chshibo@umich.edu

Meron Demissie

GSI

mdemissi@umich.edu

VSCode Ubuntu ๐Ÿถ ๐Ÿ“š
Chen Huang

GSI

kouchin@umich.edu

VSCode CLion Windows Ubuntu
Nicole Lam
Nicole Lam

GSI

iinicole@umich.edu

VSCode XCode ๐Ÿ€ ๐ŸŽผ ๐ŸŽธ ๐ŸŽจ
Luke Lesh
Luke Lesh

GSI

leshlu@umich.edu

VSCode Vim Windows ๐Ÿฒ โœ‹ ๐Ÿงƒ
Parth Raut

GSI

praut@umich.edu

VSCode Ubuntu ๐ŸŒฏ ๐Ÿ‘ป ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿšฒ
Vanessa Su

GSI

sujiayao@umich.edu

VSCode VS XCode ๐Ÿธ ๐ŸŽน ๐Ÿ€„
David Zhong

GSI

dzhong@umich.edu

VSCode Vim Windows Ubuntu โšฝ ๐ŸŽฎ ๐ŸŽถ ๐Ÿง—
Paul Aldea
Paul Aldea

IA

paldea@umich.edu

VSCode Windows Ubuntu โŒจ ๐Ÿฟ โ™Ÿ ๐Ÿ’ช โœˆ ๐ŸŽฅ
Ibrahim Alnassar
Ibrahim Alnassar

IA

alnassar@umich.edu

VSCode Vim Windows Ubuntu ๐Ÿ‹ ๐ŸŽฎ ๐Ÿ€ ๐Ÿณ
Stephen Barstys
Stephen Barstys

IA

sbarstys@umich.edu

VSCode Windows Ubuntu ๐ŸŽท ๐Ÿฅ ๐ŸŽฎ ๐Ÿงฒ
Jaccob Bell
Jaccob Bell

IA

jaccob@umich.edu

VSCode Vim ๐Ÿณ ๐Ÿงผ ๐Ÿ‘Ÿ ๐Ÿ“š ๐ŸŽฎ
Grace Boettger
Grace Boettger

IA

graceboe@umich.edu

VSCode Windows ๐Ÿถ โšฝ ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ›ซ ๐Ÿฆž
Hriday Chhabria
Hriday Chhabria

IA

hridayc@umich.edu

VSCode XCode ๐ŸŽฅ ๐Ÿ€ ๐ŸŽค ๐ŸŽ ๐Ÿ”ฌ
Ellen Chlachidze
Ellen Chlachidze

IA

ellench@umich.edu

VSCode XCode ๐ŸŽต ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿงถ ๐Ÿฅ‹
Andy Huang
Andy Huang

IA

huandy@umich.edu

Yoon Sung (Alex) Ji

IA

ajys@umich.edu

VSCode Windows Ubuntu ๐Ÿ€ ๐ŸŽจ ๐ŸŽž
Lohit Kamatham

IA

lohitk@umich.edu

VSCode VS Windows Ubuntu ๐Ÿธ ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿ€
Andrea Liu
Andrea Liu

IA

aaliu@umich.edu

VSCode Vim ๐ŸŽผ ๐ŸŽจ ๐Ÿฅฑ
Tejas Maire
Tejas Maire

IA

tmaire@umich.edu

VSCode VS ๐Ÿ€ ๐Ÿˆ โœˆ
Iman Malik
Iman Malik

IA

imanmal@umich.edu

VSCode XCode Vim ๐Ÿง‹ ๐Ÿชค โ™  ๐ŸŽฌ
Hunter Muench

IA

hmuench@umich.edu

VSCode XCode Windows ๐ŸŠ ๐ŸŒด
Rajiv Parimi
Rajiv Parimi

IA

parimi@umich.edu

VSCode XCode ๐Ÿ€ ๐ŸŽฑ
Hemil Shah
Hemil Shah

IA

heshah@umich.edu

VSCode Ubuntu ๐ŸŽพ ๐Ÿ” โ™ 
Anne Shorkey
Anne Shorkey

IA

ashorkey@umich.edu

VSCode XCode ๐Ÿง โœˆ ๐ŸŽž ๐ŸŒŒ ๐ŸŽจ
Amrita
Amrita Thirumalai

IA

aathiru@umich.edu

VSCode VS Windows ๐Ÿž ๐Ÿงถ ๐Ÿฅ› ๐Ÿค–
Umi
Umi

Class Mascot

๐Ÿ˜ป