EECS 370: Intro to Computer Organization

The University of Michigan, Winter 2022

Calendar


Course Calendar | Office Hours Calendar

Lecture



Sections 1, 2, & 3
Section 001: (In-person)
Tue & Thu 9:00 - 10:30 1060 FMCRB

Section 002: (In-person)
Tue & Thu 10:30 - 12:00 1610 IOE

Section 003: (In-person & on )
Tue & Thu 12:00 - 1:30 1013 DOW


Sections 4 & 5
Section 004: (In-person)
Tue & Thu 1:30 - 3:00 1109 FXB

Section 005: (In-person)
Tue & Thu 3:00 - 4:30 1571 GGBL



Lecture Recordings & Slides

Discussions

Monday Discussion
Mouse over the staff icons for more info!
         

                

          

                  
Friday Discussion
       

       

              

       

Assignments

Project 1

Assembler, Simulator, and Assembly-Language Multiplication

Project 2

Assembler, Linker, and Assembly-Language Recursive Function

Exams

Midterm

Date : 3/10/22, 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM EST

Final

Date : 4/25/22, 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM EST

Admin Requests

IMPORTANT: If you have an urgent (needs attention in less than 6 hours) request please email eecs370winter22staff@umich.edu instead.

Exam Conflicts and Accomodations are due by Jan 31st.

Schedule

Day Topic Assignment Released Assignment Deadline Petterson & Hennessey ARM 5th Readings
Week 0: Jan 6 - Jan 10
Thu Jan 6 Lecture 1: Introduction
Sections 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.7
Fri Jan 7 Discussion 1: C & Binary (EECS 280 Review)
Sections 2.4, 2.6, 3.2
Mon Jan 10
Week 1: Jan 11 - Jan 17
Tue Jan 11 Lecture 2: ISA and Memory
Project 1 & HW1 out (1/11)
Sections 2.2, 2.3, 2.4, 2.5
Thu Jan 13 Lecture 3: LC2K and ARM ISAs
Sections 2.2, 2.3, 2.5, 2.6
Fri Jan 14 Discussion : None (MLK Day)
Mon Jan 17
Week 2: Jan 18 - Jan 24
Tue Jan 18 Lecture 4: C to ARM Assembly
Sections 2.2, 2.3, 2.6, 2.7, 2.13
Thu Jan 20 Lecture 5: Function Calls in Assembly
Sections 2.3, 2.7, 2.13
Fri Jan 21 Discussion 2: Project 1: ISA; C to LC2K Assembly
Section 3.3
Mon Jan 24 HW2 Out (1/24) HW1 Due (1/24)
Week 3: Jan 25 - Jan 31
Tue Jan 25 Lecture 6: Caller/Callee and Linker
Sections 2.8, 2.12
Thu Jan 27 Lecture 7: Linker and Floating Point Arithmetic
Project 2 Out (1/27) Project 1A Due (1/27)
Sections 2.8, 2.12, 3.2, 3.3, 3.5
Fri Jan 28 Discussion 3: Combinational Logic (EECS 270 Review)
Sections A.1, A.2, A.3, A.5, A.6
Mon Jan 31
Week 4: Feb 1 - Feb 7
Tue Feb 1 Lecture 8: Combinational Logic and ALU design
Sections A.1, A.2, A.3, A.5, A.6, C2
Thu Feb 3 Lecture 9: Sequential Logic and Finite State Machines
Project 1S & 1M Due (2/3)
Sections A.7, A.8, A.9, A.10, A.11, A.12, C3
Fri Feb 4 Discussion 4: Project 2: Linking & Functions in LC2K (Part 1)
Section 2.12
Mon Feb 7 HW3 Out (2/7) HW2 Due (2/7)
Week 5: Feb 8 - Feb 14
Tue Feb 8 Lecture 10: Single Cycle CPUs
Sections 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4
Thu Feb 10 Lecture 11: Multi Cycle CPUs
Project 2A Due (2/10)
Sections 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4
Fri Feb 11 Discussion 5: Single-Cycle Datapaths
Sections 2.8, 2.12
Mon Feb 14
Week 6: Feb 15 - Feb 21
Tue Feb 15 Lecture 12: Basic Pipelining
Sections 4.5, 4.6
Thu Feb 17 Lecture 13: Data Hazards and Forwarding
Project 2L Due (2/17)
Section 4.6, 4.7
Fri Feb 18 Discussion 6: Multi-cycle Datapaths
Mon Feb 21 HW3 due (2/21)
Week 7: Feb 22 - Feb 28
Tue Feb 22 Lecture 14: Data and Control Hazards
Section 4.7, 4.8
Thu Feb 24 Lecture 15: Control Hazards and Exceptions
Project 2C and 2Z due (2/24)
Sections 4.7, 4.8, 4.9
Fri Feb 25 Discussion : None (Spring Break)
Mon Feb 28
Week 8: Mar 8 - Mar 14
Tue Mar 8 Lecture 16: Midterm review
Project 3 & HW4 Out (3/8)
Thu Mar 10 Midterm (3/10 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM EST)
Fri Mar 11 Discussion 7: Project 3: Pipelining
Mon Mar 14
Week 9: Mar 15 - Mar 18
Tue Mar 15 Lecture 17: Intro to Caches
Sections 5.1,5.2,5.3
Thu Mar 17 Lecture 18: Cache Block Size, Write Back, and Write Through
Sections 5.4-5.4.2
Fri Mar 18 Discussion 8: Datapath Performance
Sections 1.6, 1.9
Mon Mar 21 HW5 Out (3/21) HW4 Due (3/21)
Week 10: Mar 22 - Mar 25
Tue Mar 22 Lecture 19: Direct Mapped and Set Associative Caches
Sections 5.4.2-5.4.4, A.B Caches
Thu Mar 24 Lecture 20: The 3 C's of Caches
Project 4 Out (3/24) Project 3 Due (3/24)
Sections 5.4.2-5.4.4, 5.8
Fri Feb 25 Discussion 9: Project 4: Caches
Sections 5.9, 5.12
Mon Feb 28
Week 11: Mar 29 - Apr 1
Tue Mar 29 Lecture 21: Cache wrap-up
Sections 5.7-5.7.4
Thu Mar 31 Lecture 22: Virtual Memory: Part 1
Sections 5.7.4-5.7.11
Fri Apr 1 Discussion 10: Cache-aware Programming / HW 5 Pod Time
Section 5.4
Mon Apr 4
Week 12: Apr 5 - Apr 8
Tue Apr 5 Lecture 23: Virtual Memory: Part 2
HW6 Out (4/5) HW5 Due (4/5)
Section 5.7
Thu Apr 7 Lecture : No class
Fri Apr 8 Discussion 11: Cache and Virtual Memory Performance
Sections 5.4, 5.5, 5.8, 5.9
Mon Apr 11
Week 13: Apr 12 - Apr 18
Tue Apr 12 Lecture 24: Virtual Memory: Part 3
Section 5.7
Thu Apr 14 Lecture 25: Final review
Project 4 Due (4/14)
Fri Apr 15 Discussion 12: HW 6 Pod Time
Mon Apr 18
Week 14: Apr 19 - Apr 25
Tue Apr 19 Lecture 26 (OPTIONAL): Selected Topics HW 6 Due (4/19)
Mon Apr 25 Final Exam! (4/25 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM EST)

Course Resources

Staff

apsample
Alanson Sample

apsample@umich.edu

VS VS
Reetu Das
Reetu Das

reetudas@umich.edu

Todd Austin
Todd Austin

austin@umich.edu

VSVS VS VS VS
Lingjia Tang
Lingjia Tang

lingjia@umich.edu

Lauren Biernacki
Lauren Biernacki

lbiernac@umich.edu

VS VS VS
Jack Hong
Jack Hong

jackhong@umich.edu

VS VS VS
Salar Latifi
Salar Latifi

Salar@umich.edu

VS
bdmanley@umich.edu
Ben Manley

bdmanley@umich.edu

VS VS VS VS
zezhang@umich.edu
Ze Zhang

zezhang@umich.edu

VS VS
sri
Sri Cherukuri

cheruks@umich.edu

VS VS VS VS
Maximos Nolan
Maximos Nolan

maximosn@umich.edu

VS VS VS VSCode VS lol VS
VS VS VS
Mason

nelsontm@umich.edu

VS VS VSCode PS5 VS
Alexandra Saavedra
Alexandra Saavedra

aisaav@umich.edu

VS VS
Yumeng Bai
Yumeng Bai

yumengb@umich.edu

VS VSCode
Christian Ghoubrial
Christian Ghoubrial

chrisgho@umich.edu

VS VSCode
Nathan Kubczak
Nathan Kubczak

kubczakn@umich.edu

VS VSCode VS VSCode VS
Mohamed Qasem
Mohamed Qasem

moqasem@umich.edu

VS VSCode VS
Sarah Fayyad
Sarah Fayyad

shfayyad@umich.edu

VS
Chen Huang
Chen Huang

kouchin@umich.edu

VS VSCode VS VSCode
Emily Nagy
Emily Nagy

nagyem@umich.edu

VS
Sunny Nayak
Sunny Nayak

sanketn@umich.edu

VS VS VS
Manan Manchanda
Manan Manchanda

mananm@umich.edu

VS
Ben Puzycki
Ben Puzycki

bpuzycki@umich.edu

VS
James Gu
James Gu

gujames@umich.edu

VS VS VS VS VS
Maha
Mahalakshmi Iyer

iyerm@umich.edu

VS VS
VS
Dharivi Bansal
Dharivi Bansal

dharivib@umich.edu

VS VS
Kevin
Kevin Choong

kevincc@umch.edu

VS VS VS VS VS VS